bird in hand

Over the last couple of days I’ve been stitching this goldfinch.

goldfinch complete.JPG

I’ve read somewhere that people used to keep goldfinches in cages, they certainly are beautiful birds and often visit my garden, twittering away in small groups. I am not keen on caging birds, but did want to show the love I feel for these beautiful creatures. I added to the beauty of the bird by surrounding it with bullion stitch roses, one of may favourite things to embroider. I used my own hands as ‘models’, but just suggested their outline using backstitch – I didn’t want to detract from the bird with too much detail.

goldfinch closeup.JPG

Of course I’ve changed the relative scales of hands, bird and roses – that’s the joy of art – I can adjust objects in whichever way I choose!

Leave a Reply

